Boondocks Season 3: “The Truth Is Back”

We interrupt your regular scheduled programming to bring you this life-changing announcement. The 3rd and final season of Boondocks, that afro-revolutionary comic strip turned urban anime hit TV show, is finally upon us. Now, if you are not familiar with it, I respectfully ask that you close your eyes and plug your ears while the rest of us jump around and shriek like a bunch of giddy, pre-teen girls as we watch the trailer.

I don’t own a TV. Don’t care to. Most of the sh*t on there is…just that: sh*t. So I save myself the stress of watching backwashed, eurocentric, myopic, sensationalized, high budget BS, and read a book instead.

Among those books, Aaron McGruder’s Boondocks series. I was an avid reader of the comic strip when I could find em in the papers, so I bought the books first chance I got. And to be honest, when I heard the comic strips were going to become a cartoon I was…skeptical. Boondocks was like Huey’s hair; unkempt and unapologetically Afro. TV censors and mutes, and I could see them putting a leash on Aaron real quick. Gil Scott-Heron wasn’t joking about the Revolution not being televised.

Huey's Back!

But I tuned in for Season one. And it was glorious. Especially after the banned from TV episodes “leaked”. Same story with Season Two. And now, the third and final batch is queued up and ready to entertain and make a bunch of conservatives uncomfortable. Next to The Wire, House, Californication and Dexter (yeah, I know. Weird list.), Boondocks is the only show I bother to follow. So for me, I’m rejoicing. Counting down to May 2nd.

Oh baby.

11 thoughts on “Boondocks Season 3: “The Truth Is Back”

    • Am I the only chic that hates chic flicks and would rather watch those steven seagul movies that go straight to DVD??

      I love men with with guns so I would rather watch boondocks(tho no men with guns), NCIS, Numbers e.t.c over one tree hill and the rest of those hot messes

  1. LOL @ Mimi! Seagal aint got sh!t on Makmende. For real though, I’d take a good action-packed or adventure flick or series over a sappy romantic soap or series anyday!

  2. Aside from several episodes, never really got into it….Animation is just not for me. I love the use exhibit C though 🙂

  3. Pingback: Boondocks Season 3: "The Truth Is Back" | Comic Strip Continued

Leave a Reply

